New governance model for NICAM

New Media Tech header

C hange in governance model at NICAM

Published on: December 17 2022

The NICAM Board has decided to change NICAM’s governance model to a Supervisory Board model. This is a widespread governance model wherein the operational management duties are delegated to a board of directors – known as the ‘Board’ in the new model – and a Supervisory Board is responsible for protecting internal and external interests.

This move was, essentially, a formalisation of the existing situation. As managing director, Tiffany van Stormbroek, performed a large number of board duties already. She is now the NICAM Board.

The Supervisory Board was appointed on the 11th of July and consists of five members, selected for their supervisory expertise. The preceding Board, which comprises representatives from the affiliated media organisations, will remain directly involved (as the Board of Participants) in NICAM policy, including implementing substantial changes to the system, long-term planning, and the Kijkwijzer budget.

Due to internal and external developments, NICAM is no longer the same organisation it was when it was founded more than 20 years ago. At the time, NICAM served as an administrative unit which implemented Kijkwijzer for a select number of media outlets (television, cinema and video). The media landscape has since expanded, and the organisation now manages a system for a far larger and wider spectrum of media companies, both in the Netherlands and internationally.

Additionally, the requirements set out for NICAM in terms of laws and regulations have become more complex and more strict, e.g. the strict requirements regarding privacy protection. The scope and complexity of these duties called for a change. The Supervisory Board model provides the Board with the possibility to act and anticipate more swiftly and to take responsibility for these actions.

Supervisory Board members

The Supervisory Board consists of five members, chaired by Toine Maes. The other members are: Marije Schuring, Radboud Ribbert, Sahar Yadegari and Beate van Dongen Crombags.

Board of Participants

Chair of the Board of Participants is Arjo Kramer (VCO). The other members are Thomas Schippers and Lonneke van der Zee (both NPO), Suzanne Teijgeler (VCO), Gulian Nolthenius (NVBF), Anne de Jong (FDN) and Martin de Wilde (NVER).

Share item

twitter facebook